1 finger per fret, almost impossible for me

I have been practising for over two years, and though i can see much improvement in many areas i still have trouble with the one finger per fret method. As soon as my fingers curl round the neck, they curl together, even on the higher frets (9-12 for example) probably due to a previous arthritic condition i had in my 30’s and 40’s (i am now 67 BTW). Does anyone else have this problem because i don’t seem to be able to make my fingers any more straight so i accept that this is the way it is going to be.

2 Likes

There is no law that says you need to make it work. I can’t do it below about the seventh fret and above the seventh fret it isn’t confortable anyway.

So I don’t bother and do kind of a modified Simandl instead.

I wouldn’t beat yourself up over it. Nothing wrong with shifting. It takes longer to get as fast but it is still a fine technique. FWIW only one of my bass heroes does OFPF anyway, and she is a beast to begin with. (besides @JoshFossgreen and @Gio of course :slight_smile: )

Josh has a good video about this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XdrDozdlEWc

8 Likes

Hey there @leftyclawhands ,
As Howard @howard has mentioned, it’s not for everyone and it wont prevent you from playing songs, it just means you have to use a different technique and if that’s the case, it whatever works.
Some on here micro shift , Pam @PamPurrs plays this way.
I use one finger per fret, and it takes time and practice to build strength and dexterity in all 4 fingers for this technique, if you do decide to persevere you will be able to achieve a great outcome :+1:
Cheers Brian

5 Likes

Thanks for that Howard, and for the link to the video.

3 Likes

Cheers Brian, thanks for the encouragement, I am certainly getting better but there seems to be a limit to my dexterity and i have adapted my style accordingly.

2 Likes