Fear of failure/ first jam session

So since a few people at work know i try to play bass, one of the guys called the other day. His nephew has a garage/basement group and they need a bass player.
They describe themselves as as self taught, and not very good…yet they have all the equipment on hand and they get together regularly.
They asked me to come and join them this Sunday, and as much as I’m skeert to get get laughed at-im thinking of going.
I got some social anxiety, and some issues with going outside. But the guy from work is going to go with me. so that helps because at least i know one person-so maybe less nervous sweating and inching toward the door while actively trying to achieve invisibility.
Probably the biggest issue here is maybe I’m out of my depth? I only been playing 9 months- never touched an instrument before unless i was Just moving it to vacuum there? And it seems like maybe keeping up us an issue? Nobody wants to look like a fool, and that’s a real possibility.

I simply can’t be the only one who’s had this. I don’t drink or do drugs, so the typical social lubricants of having a beer or smoking a joint aren’t in my Arsenal.
So if i go, I’m going to do what i do best and try to not get noticed much. Try to stay on the beat and in time, i guess.
I never actually thought I’d play anywhere other than a room by myself. It’s kinda unnerving.

15 Likes

Well in the immortal words of Greg Brady (I think), imagine the audience in their underpants.

6 Likes

This is really a GREAT idea for you, @autumnsdad1990

NO ONE is going to laugh at you, either. They’re all self taught. You’ve got a course under your belt! . . . :+1:

Great things could happen with this opportunity!

Cheers
Joe

9 Likes

Did the group give you any suggested tunes to start with? That never hurts.

2 Likes

No. Nothing yet. If i knew what they play, i could bassbot(:joy:) some of it. So, going in cold.

2 Likes

You know i love the bunch.

1 Like