Fretting Tone Question

Beginner here and have been working my way through the B2B program. While I do tune my bass before lessons, I am finding that I have to adjust my fingers either closer to/further away from the fret wires to be in tune with Josh’s notes during the workouts. However, the distance is not consistent between the individual notes/strings and the open strings are always in tune with his. Is this a result of how I am pressing on the fretboard, maybe how I am plucking, a noob thing and will get better with practice, does an adjustment need to be made to my bass, or could it be I am not “compatible” with the model I am using [it’s me, not you bass guitar… I’m just not ready for this kind of a relationship and really sorry :frowning: ]. I did have my local guitar store put a new set of strings on it and adjust/setup the bridge. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

3 Likes

are you pressing hard on the frets ? do you know your string gauge ?

1 Like

Sometimes it can be where you fret the string, but what confuses me is that you state it is different on each string… Is it off key the same amount on each individual string at each fret as you move up and down that particular string on the fretboard? Just a shot in the dark, but… Intonation? Guitar stores typically don’t check this unless you specifically ask, and they sometimes charge more for doing it even though it’s a simple process that you can do yourself… Thing is, I would think that the intonation would have to be pretty far off to have something this noticeable happen, but then again, anything is possible…

Oh, forgot to ask, was it like this before you had new strings put on?

1 Like