Hello! Small zaps?

Hello! I am new to bass and I have a question. I have a G and L Tribute L2000 in Clear orange (i absolutely love it!) and I have noticed that I am getting small zaps from the strings and the the bridge. I opened the back panel and made sure no wires were touching and metal before the 9v battery and the pre-amp is wrapped very well so its not touching any metal either. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what could be causing it? I have an Orange crush combo amp and I’m not using any pedals. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you jjswenson

4 Likes

Do you get those all the time, whenever you play, or only in certain cases?

I am asking because I get tiny zaps whenever I am in contact with the strings and - at the same time - touch the metal surface of my MacBook while it is being charged! Only in that combination do I notice a tingling from the strings into my skin (potentially pointing to a grounding issue; in my case, I am pretty sure the power supply charging my MacBook is not properly grounded through the outlet).

Is it anything like that?

2 Likes

As in static electricity zaps from your bass to your figures? I never knew that was something that could happen. Crazy. I’m sure someone here will know what is causing it.

3 Likes

My husband can feel the small zaps (less than a 9 volt battery) whenever he touches the string with his ring. I usually feel them with the inside of my arm on the bridge. I thought my arm was just sensitive since there was a screw there, but it’s smooth and my husband can feel them other times. We are trying switching outlets in case that was the cause, but I am curious if I was close to dying form a “hot” bass. I will keep you updated to if I keep feeling them.

3 Likes

Yeah, it could be that the amp is not grounded properly. Try other outlets… often larger kitchen appliances (fridges, perhaps dishwashers, …) are hooked up to “better” outlets, i.e., properly grounded ones.