Newbie wanting to try the bass

Hello all -

Extreme newbie here…Looking at entering the bass world at 54 yrs old (I guess better late than never…right ?) Anyway, always loved the iconic rock bassists, Geddy Lee, John Entwistle, Etc. That being said, I am considering the Geddy Lee Jazz Bass (MIM version) to enter my journey. I am SURE there are cheaper basses, BUT I am extremely weird, and have the “curse” of wanting nice things right off the bat, so I don’t have to upgrade down the road. IF anyone has suggestions, or comments, by all means. Also, an amp recommendation would be appreciated.

PS…As soon as I acquire my equipment, I will start my learning with Josh Fossgreen’s online
instructions.

Thank you all !!
Jim

13 Likes

Welcome @stuka1166

I wish I was as young as you, but thankfully I still have my feeling of youth.

As far as amps, the Fender Rumble series is very popular among bass players, and is discussed frequently in this forum. I started with a Rumble 40, and later went to the Rumble 100. I now have the Rumble 500 amp head with a Rumble 115 cab.

I started out cautiously with a $89 bass from Amazon. It didn’t take me long to become hooked, and have upgraded a few times from there. The Geddy Lee you’re looking at is a good choice, and would not be a problem selling if (heaven forbid) you decide bass is not for you.

7 Likes

There is nothing wrong with starting out with good equipment if you have the budget for it… but don’t think for a second that you still aren’t going to want to upgrade later anyway! Most people start cheap because they aren’t sure they will stick with it long enough to justify the expense of nicer gear. The only downside to doing it your way is that you can’t blame your bad playing when you start on your poor equipment! Enjoy the ride.

8 Likes