So I got (pre)invited to an originals band

I’ve been playing bass on and off for the last 12/13 years, mostly on my own. I started taking it more seriously in the last 2-3 years, but even then I’m mostly doing my own thing without a “greater purpose”.

I do have some friends I jam with occasionally and an office “band” with whom I’m creating a fun/satire EP with stuff related to the company. Almost a pity, because there are good songs that would fit perfectly with a ‘normal’ band and which I can’t wait to share with you guys (I’m pretty proud with some of the basslines I wrote), although you most likely won’t understand the lyrics :laughing: . But anyway, it’s pretty casual. We mostly work online and gather once a month or so.

Apart from that little intro, feeling the need for a bit more formal education, I decided to bite the bullet and started having some lessons with a private tutor. I wouldn’t say these configure as regular lessons as we mostly just practice some licks and jam together. After the 1st lesson he admitted that he didn’t know what to do with me as he’s more used to a juvenile audience and “less educated” bassists (theory and tecnique wise).

Anyway, yesterday he sent me a message asking if he was allowed to share my soundcloud with some people he knew. I didn’t think too much of it, as I only have a few ‘novelty’ tracks there (mostly bass only and therefore bass driven songs), but said “of course”.

Today I got a message from him telling me: “Hi Gonçalo, I have this band of originals looking for a bassist and they loved what you did on your soundcloud. They are really eager to meet you and want you to be part of the band”.