When to Incorporate Additional Theory

Based on seeing it recommended in several places on the forum, I’ve invested in Ariana Cap’s “Music Theory for the Bass Player”.

I do have some vague theory knowledge from playing guitar and harmonica for several years (badly, and self taught… )
However, I’m not really sure at what stage of my learning it’d be best to incorporate the additional learning.

I’m near the end of Module 5 of the B2B course, and my thoughts were to start learning the extra theory alongside the course.

Would you suggest or recommend doing it this way or completing Josh’s course fully first?

2 Likes

Complete Josh’s course first. It will give you a good foundation. I, too got into Ari Cap and after getting the books, found what she was teaching was too advanced for me at the time. So, I set the books aside, finished B2B and went back to the books. Much more understanding and I did not get frustrated with the concepts she teaches.

3 Likes

Ari’s book is a great compliment while taking B2B. There is minimal “playing’ so won’t get in the way of B2B and lots of good learning.

@PamPurrs didn’t you do them at same time?

When you’ve gone through the Ari book, look to talking bass’ scales and chord tone classes.
Note: all of these are meant as resounded to continue to go back to over time. They are not ‘one and dines’ like B2B can be. If something doesn’t sink in at first, ask for help or put a sticky on the page and go back later on. You’ll be shocked how much simpler things become later.

2 Likes

Yes, I did B2B and Talking Bass Scales course simultaneously, and read Ari’s first book in my down time. I was definitely on a mission LOL

6 Likes

Thanks for the feedback.