A string not tuning to A using a Snark Tuner?

Hello everyone. I am new to the Bass or any string intrument let alone tuning a string instrument. I know how to get it in the middle to the rigjt key note but the A string wont even register on the Snark. Not near me at the moment. It is for both guitar & bass though. It tuned the E, D & G just fine. As of now I tuned it using the E string by ear. Kust qindering if this is normal? I’ve readnthere are better tuners than the Smarks and will get one soon enough (still learning with what I can find for free at the moment, temporarily disbled til September and on a budget or I would be learning via Joshs B2B). I’m just hoping I didnt bust the string some how, some way? It does not seem stretched or broken. The strings are new and are what came on the bass which are D’Addario EXL 165’s. But yes, not wvem registering a A note at all, B yes, gonlow and nothing shows on the Snark? Any and all help is greatly appreciated by this newbie. . . Oh yeagh, the bass is a Ibanez SR300EB also my profile pucture. And thanks for the time to read this rant!

1 Like

Sorry for the mispelling, big fingers!

What does it register when you’ve tuned it by ear?

1 Like

Try moving the snark around on the headstock, sometimes that makes a difference.

2 Likes

Fender / Squier style bass? Sometimes the A string needs to be seated just right on the tuning peg so the break angle is enough not to cause odd issues like this.

1 Like

I forget at the moment. Be around 7pm EST til i can mess with it but will recheck. The Snark does work, I tuned it before and it registered A.

I just poated about the Snark working and I tuned it before and it registered A. Not registering now made me think the string just went bad? But i also put the snark on the side of the head too amd this time from what I’ve read and seen in videos out the Snark at the very end of the head. Like I said, at the moment, I have no real guidence except for what I find online.