Absolute beginner

Hello all,

I recently came across the Bass Buzz web site. I am a 70-year-old retired industrial electrician and my main hobby (up until now) has been ham radio, which I have been doing since 1981. I normally use Morse Code and usually have conversations with foreign stations.

Many years ago, I bought a cheap bass guitar from J.C. Penney - back when they sold a lot of stuff. I also bought a used Fender Bassman amp and signed on for lessons with a local instructor. I only took a couple of lessons and quit the lessons after only a couple sessions. I didn’t think that I was getting much out of the lessons and I will have to admit that I didn’t devote much time to practicing. So, I gave the guitar away and sold the amp.

I recently bought a used Squier Affinity Precision Bass and a very small used Fender amp. I have also begun taking lessons with a person at a local store of the major guitar chain.

I am really wondering if this “is for me” and if I can do this at my “late” age. I told myself that if I could learn Morse Code and be proficient at it, then I could learn to play bass guitar.

Any comments, suggestions and encouragement would be welcome. Thanks!

18 Likes

Welcome, @Bradford. Have no fear, you can absolutely do this. You’re exactly in the right place. Josh is an excellent, talented teacher who imparts knowledge so smoothly and easily that it’s impossible NOT to learn how to play bass. Plus, our B2B group is the best anywhere. Our family is made up of folks of all ages, from many backgrounds and life experiences, each of us bound by the deep desire to learn to play better and to help each other along the way.

Neither age nor inexperience is a barrier here. All that’s required to succeed is to follow Josh’s lead, have the will to learn, and practice. Beyond that lies badassery.

Feel free to ask anything. The only dumb questions are those that are never asked.