Aguilar TLC Compressor

Some of us bought this pedal when it started selling for $99 at Sweetwater. If there’s a better compressor out there for that price, I’ve never heard of it.

So, what does everybody think about it?
Any settings you’ve settled on?
Do you need any help making it do what you want?

I like it quite a bit. Very quiet. Very transparent. I’m still learning about it myself, but I’ll do my best to help out however I can.

One of the things it’s done for me is create GAS for a compressor that isn’t so transparent (does more to colour the tone). Like the Boss Bass Comp BC-1X or, more probably, the Markbass Compressore. But, I digress, as that is a discussion for another topic.

2 Likes

It’s still priced for over 250 - 300 euros here. :face_with_monocle:
That is such a good bargain!

2 Likes

Certainly was a bargain @eric.kiser but even after a couple of years of playing I still don’t understand the advantage/use of compressors , noise gates etc!
I do get fuzz, distortion and pedals that have a marked change to my untrained ear but still struggle with the rest

2 Likes

In simplest form @Mac

• it can even the highs and the lows (volume wise) of your playing so hard plucks are not as loud and soft plucks are a bit louder, giving you a consistent sound. Pedals are great for live, plugins are great for recording in DAW.

Ever listen to a cover here and have it sound like some notes drop ‘out’ and some are just really loud? - compressor to the rescue

Alternatively

• a bit of overturning of knobs can get you new tonal sounds, clipping off the tops and bottoms of waves, adding…not really distortion, but something unique.
  • dial in between for some of each
5 Likes