Amp question for newbie

just got a bass; total beginner.
I have a Peavey Nashville400 amp.
would this be ok to use (entirely for home/practice) with a Fender Bronco bass?

1 Like

In theory, yes. The 15 inch speaker and 210 watts should have enough beef to handle the bass’s sound range. You’ll likely have to do some tweaking with the gain and EQ to get the tone right, however.

1 Like

thanks for the reply…appreciate it very much.
because I’m a total newbie, I won’t use much volume…just enough so I can hear how I sound…again, thanks for replying.

1 Like

I wouldn’t worry about the volume. For comparison, the most popular recommended practice amp is a Fender Rumble 40. It’s 40 watts with a 10 inch speaker. Not great for gigs but fantastic for practice. 210 watts on yours? The more watts, the more your neighbors love you.

Yours will be just fine. Just get good with the EQ.

2 Likes

thank you…appreciate it…
I saw the Rumble at the store where I got my bass.
being I’m just starting, tried to save some $…and I do have this
really like new Nashville 400 just sitting in closet. it’s 210watts.

1 Like

I also have an old Stinger 50w amp laying around too.
it was the first amp I bought. it’s made by Martin.
the sound is kinda “thin” compared to the Nashville 400.

1 Like

I’m sure you’ve already tried playing through your amp. If it has good dynamics at a low volume, then you’re set. I’d recommend snapping up a 25 to 50 watt combo amp when you have some spare change. But, there is nothing that would mandate that at the moment.

I actually need to find a cab to match up to a Bass head I recently picked up. Some guy was selling a Galien-Krueger 400RB III for $65. He had picked it up at an estate sale to flip it. I was pretty stoked on that find. Just need a cab to plug it in to. But I have a nice 50 watt orange crush that I use at home. So nothing pushing me to run out and get one.

3 Likes