Amp vs. Bass Setup

Firstly sorry if something similar may have been covered in some other thread in the past.

I am new to setting up a bass with an amp, so have some nuts and bolts basic questions.

My question is not really specific to particular brands of kit, as the situation I need help with would apply to most setups I think. Anyway I have an Ibanez SR300E bass and a Fender Rumble LT25 bass amp.

My questions relates to how best to set up my bass vs. the amp, given a lot of controls are duplicated across both bits of kit.

Firstly, as both bass and amp have duplicated tone controls for bass, mid and treble frequencies, which kit (amp or bass) tone controls should I use to set the tone I want (leaving the other controls centred I assume?). Any advantages of going either route?

Then there’s the issue of volume settings and also amp gain. Both amp and bass have volume pots, and the amp also has a gain pot.

So similar question to the above question on tone controls - how to configure the volume and gain across both bass and amp?

Firstly the gain on the amp, what’s best for this, say a 25% or 75% setting maybe? You don’t want it at zero (!) and I assume you don’t want it max’d out, so is it better towards the low end or high end of the amp’s gain range?

Once you’ve chosen a gain, then is it best sonically to turn the volume pot on the bass fully up, and just use the volume on the amp as needed? Or is it better not to max out the volume pot on the bass completely?

Advice and comments welcome, cheers.

Edit: I’m talking about a setup where the amp is close to me in a solo practice situation only, so I could just as easily make adjustments to the amp settings as to the bass.

7 Likes

If you are just using the amp and the bass with no pedal chain between them, then adjusting EQ on the amp or the bass will have similar effects. (This is not true when you add pedals.) So, leaving one flat and adjusting the other is fine for now.