An Adventure

Hello All,

Been surfing the Craigslist avenue for musicians in my area. Came across an ad for a drummer looking for bandmates. I sent off a message and he turned out to be a royal prick in a half. Rather deflating to tell you the truth and pleased we never met in person.

So about three months goes by and I threw my fly back in the pond. Discovered a guitar player looking for “friends” to jam with. He claimed to have about 25 years of song writing under his belt. Fired off an email his way explaining that I am a newbie and if he is willing to meet me in my model of world, let’s jam.

We met yesterday and covered all the elementary questions as I carried in my gear. Once I was powered up and plugged in, he stopped me in my tracks with," Play Something For Me."

I literally had no idea what the hell to do. He giggled and gathered his stuff together and I began noodling around with a simple 1 3 & 4 & beat with a root note of C on the A String while tickling the notes G and F on the D String. No clue as I went with that pattern.

He breaks out his song book and informs me that I was playing the exact sound that he is looking for. Couldn’t Believe It!!

His tunes are short and simple and basically rock the G to the D to the A and a mix between those three notes. Each song was about 2 -3 min long and we worked through the repeats and what nots. All of a sudden, and why I am sharing this, the @JoshFossgreen Funk, Blues, Rock box hit me. As I took a breath, I began to play the Root, Octave, and 5th within the 4 beats.