Any tips on improving my speed/stamina/finger strength?

Hey everyone. I’m a total beginner and I was wondering if anyone had any tips on how to improve my stamina, speed, finger strength etc. Right now, I have a lot of fret buzz from pressing down too light, there are gaps in my bass playing from trying to find the next fret and which string it’s on, and my hands get tired after just a few minutes of playing. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

5 Likes

Patience. It will get better :+1:

5 Likes

Practice, practice and practice some more! But seriously, don’t be so hard on yourself. All of this is expected if you’re a total beginner, and takes time to improve. Keep practicing and don’t give up!

Edit: check out this video, and especially Tip #4: You Won’t Suck Forever :wink:

4 Likes

Thanks for the advice. After listening to Sid Vicious play bass, I now feel better about myself :grin:

3 Likes

Hand strength and stamina will come with time. Stretch out your hand and fingers as you warm up. Make sure your bass has a good setup, if the neck or action is off it can make your hand tire out easier. Focus on playing with as light of a grip as will make a clean note. Just keep playing!

3 Likes

It also might not be fretting pressure causing the buzz, and in fact probably isn’t. It takes very little pressure to properly fret a note, if the bass is set up correctly.

Have you had your bass set up? If not, you can do it yourself:

It’s easy and fun, you don’t need any special tools, and you will need to learn how to eventually anyway.

4 Likes

I measured my action and it’s around 5mm and Josh said that action should be no higher than 5mm so I don’t think it’s because of the action. What I’ve found is that if I don’t press hard enough, I get fret buzz.

2 Likes

5mm at the 12th fret is high. It’s more than twice as high as the action on my bass. I think Josh was giving an upper reasonable limit there.