Baby’s first self-setup - Squier 70s Jazz

I’m running through B2B and on a whim I decided to check my action height. By all accounts it’s very high. At the 12th fret my open E is over 4mm, 3.5 at the 5th, etc. Just seems unnecessarily high. All the pro shops here are quoting me a lead time of 3+ weeks and I don’t want to be without my guitar that long so I figure it’s time to move into the wild world of doing your own setup.

I guess my first question is — Fender gives some setup specs for their guitars here:

https://support.fender.com/hc/en-us/articles/214343843-How-do-I-set-up-my-bass-guitar-properly-

These should be a good starting point for a Squier as well, correct? I’m also just trying to get a good baseline setup since as a beginner I don’t have any feel for what “my style” is yet. My goal is to get a nice generic setup that I can learn on without an unnecessary finger workout trying to fret extra high strings.

I’ve picked up a long 4mm allen hex to do truss adjustment and, if the Fender page has the right specs, my 9.5” radius neck has twice the recommended relief so I’ll be adjusting that first.

My goal is to do all this without removing the strings and only loosening them, but on the off chance that I do mess something up I’m looking for a recommendation on good beginner baseline strings. Would a pair of nickel wound 45-105’s be a fair starting point? Again, not looking for “my style” of strings because my style is developing, just something generic and good for all styles taught in B2B.

I figure if I mess this up then I have to wait for a setup anyway, so I might as well try to do it myself. The only real danger adjustment is the truss rod IMO and I’ll take that one very slowly any gingerly making sure that there’s no string tension.

2 Likes

Honestly - you’ll be fine, don’t overthink it. It’s easier than you think.

First step, watch this:

You don’t need to remove your strings, you don’t need gauges to measure or anything like that.