Bass and Bikes

I’m a cyclist, a roadie, there I’ve said it. I’m also a wannabe bassist.

A recent post about toxic behaviours on forums got me thinking about the differences between cycling culture, compared to what I have seen in the bass world.

Perhaps the most stark is gear. Disciples of both suffer from GAS, although in the cycling / roadie world it’s not called GAS, for the cyclist it’s n+1; say that and everyone knows what you are referring to.

The key difference seems to be the attitude towards more ‘vintage’ gear. For the average roadie (well, let’s say me), the focus seems to be on the latest, greatest, lightest, stiffest, most aero bike and associated bike jewellery (think gears, crankset, brakes, helmets, jerseys, shorts, shoes - I could go on). We are constantly ‘sold’ the watts we will save at 40km/h, and then many of us hand over the cash. So much of cycling seems to be about chasing the new. Unless the bike is genuinely vintage, you’re just riding an old bike.

In contrast, I see bass posts where people talk about their 10 / 20 / 30 year old instrument with pride. In fact there is a real kudos associated with owning a [insert year] [insert brand] bass, and some of the prices, wow!

Of course, there are plenty of other similarities, and differences, but I love this delight in the preloved instrument! :sunglasses:

3 Likes

And then there’s the synth forums, which manage to combine both old-worship and new-worship. And relative toxicity. They also use the term GAS, but also their more modern, pithy and simpler version, BUY NOW.

I think maybe fewer of them bike but then again the ones that ever leave the basement studio stay skinny from all the sweaty clubs and rave drugs.

3 Likes

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Actually, the reason I ride bikes is for the cafe stops - ride, burn kcal, eat cake :+1: Keeps me in shape :wink: