Bass or Guitar for Over 50 Journey

So, I started playing bass in my late teens, played in a few bands over the years, but also have intermittently had numerous years of ‘time off’. But, now that I’m getting older (54) and the kids will soon be moving out, I’m getting the itch again. However, I’m really at a bit of a crossroads in that I’m trying to decide whether to pick up the bass again (still have all the needed gear) to really hone my craft - I never really learned how to properly slap, have many songs I never learned, etc. - or take up learning guitar. I think it’s unlikely I’ll ever play in a band again, so the guitar seems appropriate for my personal enjoyment and playing solo, but every time I crank up a great rock tune, I’m locked in with the rhythm and bass line with the eq always having bass cranked up to 11. Would welcome input and perspective from others that might help me decide which I should put my time and effort in to . . . thanks!

7 Likes

I’m addicted to the low end. So a completely biased view.

Which excites you? go with your heart, not your brain

Bass is also a guitar and nothing says you can’t be melodic, especially with blues

9 Likes

When I decided to start plaing again, I had the same question. I came to the conclusion that anything played on guitar would be something I would rather play on bass.

It wasn’t about what I like or don’t like, it was about what sounds I wanted hear me make. So, I got another bass and have no regrets.

I hope this makes sense and welcome to BassBuzz!

10 Likes

If you ask anyone here which instrument to learn/play, you can pretty safely bet the answer is…wait for it…

Bass.