Bassbuzz Curriculum

I am looking for online bass lessons and I’m considering bassbuzz. I am a complete beginner. I was wondering if someone could give me a loose overview of how things progress throughout the lessons. Do you learn how to read music? Are there lessons for 5 string? Thanks a lot for your time.

4 Likes

@RemoteOutpost welcome to the forum.
I started learning bass on a 5 string six months ago. The lessons are geared toward 4 string (all online bass classes are), but you can easily adapt to the 5 string once you know your way around your fret board. In the beginning, you can just pretend your B string isn’t there.

There are some lessons about reading later in the course, but at the beginning it will be strictly tablature. All in all, its a great course for anyone who wants to learn to play bass from the ground up.

5 Likes

Hi.
Pam has answered all your questions, but I have one for you.
You don’t say whether or not you actually have a 5 string, but as a complete beginner, why would you want to start with a 5 string over a 4 string?

2 Likes

I can answer that:
There’s a lady bass player in a local band here in the Phoenix area, who I love and admire. She plays a 5 string. When I decided to take up bass, part of my goal was to play a 5 string like her. I started on a four string, but only kept it a month before buying my 5 string. I figured if I was going to ultimately play a 5 string, why not learn on it.
I’m not sure if that’s @RemoteOutpost reason, but it may be similar.

4 Likes

I cannot recommend BassBuzz enough.
I have been playing for 3 weeks in total and I am already playing along to jazz standards on spotify.
I have advanced more than I could ever have imagined in those three weeks

4 Likes

Hi Mark. The reason I want to play a 5 string is because it fits the kind of music I want to ultimately create and I really enjoy the sound of the B string. So I figure, why not start with a 5 string if it’s what I want to play?

5 Likes