Bassist Drummer relationship

Ok its probably been addressed already but here goes.
Ive been playing bass now for about 6 months wirh my church praise band.
Thought i was doing ok however I’ve had a few people tell me that i should play with the kick drum. No matter how much i try we’re always one beat off, never at the same beat. If i try to play on his kick, it throws me off. No one has complained but if its something I’m doing wrong I’d like to correct.

1 Like

I just remember Josh saying “leave room for the snare”. To me everything else is fair game, lol.

3 Likes

You should play on one, whether it’s the snare (jazz) or kick (most genres)

You have latitude after that, but hit the one.

Download a drum app to your phone to practice

2 Likes

I will raise the possibility the kick is anticipating the one and you’re dead on

3 Likes

Have you discussed this with the drummer him/herself?

Also, if it sounds good, who cares? :wink:

2 Likes

I have questions…

Who is telling you to play on the kick?
Does the band leader have a problem with your playing?
Are you able to practice with just you and the drummer?
Does the drummer have a problem with your playing?

4 Likes

Hm, if you were one beat off, that should also manifest in “harmonic issues”, and people should notice that, but since no one complains, maybe it is something you think you are doing wrong, but you’re not!?!

Could you sit down with the drummer and try some simple grooves to see how well you align or not? And then slowly increase the complexity (as needed)!?

Where did that come from?? :rofl:

4 Likes

Just say it’s jazz and be done with it :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

2 Likes

No we dont live close, he is still working and I’m retired

1 Like