Billy Jean exercise frustrating!

i started on Sunday night with the program being an absolute NOOB at Bass ( not knowing anything) already in lesson 4 module 6. its been really fun and i keep wanting to play each day in my spare time!
Spent a good 2 hours trying to get the riff down for Billy Jean in the Beginner to Baddass lessons last night. This lesson module made me realize that my ring finger doesn’t want to move where I want it to in relation to my pinky - its almost like it has a mind of its own.
Part of the riff involves you putting you r pinky on the 4th fret of the A string, and then the next pluck will be to switch your pinky with your ringer on the same 4th fret of the A String… I will look at my ring finger , and in my mind I want my ring finger to go to press down on the 4th fret of the A String - and it just sits there and says NOPE. other times it will do exactly as told! almost as if i am un coordinated – so frustrating!
then i get through the riff - and then i need to start over and i always end up hitting the wrong string on my right hand!

i know Josh says to keep moving forward in lessons, but I feel this is to important to just pass up and I also want to learn how to play this! just came here to gripe! i know it will take practice…
edit:: didn’t realize until i did some searching that pretty much everyone else who enrolled in this course has been frustrated by this song lol. i am not alone!! will do this lesson again 1 more time today -and then move on to the next lesson

12 Likes

You are not alone. There are many threads, and many Bass Buzz players, that have been tricked, bamboozled, defeated, mocked, and even struck by the smooth criminal that is Billie Jean. It’s a more difficult thing to play than it seems at first and catches many off-guard. I imagine it is one of the most, if not the most, skipped workouts in the entire course.

But fret not, many have also eventually come to love Billie Jean, even if the kid is not their son.

8 Likes