Bought a bass from a pawnshop for $200

I was at a local pawnshop trying to find a good starter base for me to learn on, and I found this fender.

Anything y’all can tell me about the bass will be awesome! I’m excited to learn bass, and can’t wait to hear what you have to say!

Thanks in advance!

3 Likes

I am not a Fender expert at all, but have you checked the serial number (Fender serial number lookup)? Also, is there another serial number on the reverse side somewhere? If there is, check this one also. But, generally, it is not good to have two serial numbers.

You may want to read through this also:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Guitar/comments/xttz8u/question_why_fender_jazz_bass_have_a_2_different/
A Fender bass with the same serial number as visible on your headstock is mentioned in that thread. According to Fender this would indicate your bass is from around 1984-1987, but that seems unlikely (but not impossible) by the way it looks.

A first cautious conclusion would be that it is a counterfeit instrument. Getting a real Japanese-made Fender from the 80s for 200 bucks is probably too good to be true. But, again, check whether there is another serial number somewhere on the backside.

And, of course, some people here are much more Fender-savvy than I am :wink:

3 Likes

If this is not a fake (which is doubtful then you got a hell of a deal.
Agree with @joergkutter that the condition is really too good to be true, but hey, you never know.

2 Likes

What else could I do to get a definitive yes or no? It would be nice to settle this.

1 Like

Match the serial # to a genuine fender, that’s gonna be the easiest way to do it.

1 Like

Alternatively I’d ask the question ‘Does it really matter?’

If it plays nicely and it only cost you $200 it’s a great deal. If you wanted to sell it later you’re not going to lose anything.

The cheapest new Fender bass is around $800. So plug it in and enjoy making noise.