Breakdown of techniques in this video

I have been playing regular guitar for many years and am quite proficient there. I have played bass a few times and recently got a bass guitar. I watched this video and I wanted to be able to play like this, because I can on guitar! That’s a joke - of course I don’t expect to get as good on bass in a matter of weeks. But I would like to know what he is doing.

In particular, I am fascinated by the sequences with rapid succession of notes around 0:56. I am fairly certain it’s some kind of right-hand popping technique, but I can’t catch which frames in the video are actually getting each note to come out.

Has anyone / could anyone do a quick analysis of different techniques I can practice that he makes use of?

edit: it won’t let me post links? Wtf?
youtube . com /watch?v=jCuoXf6MnO8

2 Likes

Haha, yeah, well…

It’s possible that you are better than the average guy in here after a year of playing, but this is Jedi-level stuff here, or potentially Yoda-level stuff :wink:

It’s indeed some very advanced slap-pop stuff that I would advise you NOT to practice before you have the basics and the other advanced slap/pop techniques down… as in “completely down”.

Here is a good video by Josh:

Should keep you busy for a while :wink:

3 Likes

Ah. Charles Berthoud has a huge arsenal and will usually fire it at will.
@0:56, I would say these are slap triplets. Quite fast slap triplets.
Now it’s a fantastic goal in bass but I would join @joergkutter and would recommand to not approach this … lightly ^^
And welcome here, by the way !

3 Likes