Clacking/Hammer Issue

When I try to fret, especially on the E and A strings I get a hammer/clack every time my fingers hit the fretboard. Even if I’m playing gently. At first I thought maybe my fretting fingers are beating my plucking fingers to the note, but even when I’ve timed them to hit at the same time, there’s a clack, taking away the purity of the sound of the notes. I’m new to bass and just finished Josh’s course so maybe my action is too high? Not sure. Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

4 Likes

Sounds like a setup is in order. Action and/or truss rod adjustments too low.

3 Likes

It’s either a setup issue (as mentioned by @John_E ) or a technique issue (which will require time and practice to improve). For me, it is most pronounced on higher frets when going from one string to another (i.e., not having already fretted a note nearby). It also seems to be more noticeable with fresh strings…

Try this: play such that you can listen to yourself only via headphones and see if the “noise” persists. Or, alternatively, record yourself (through a DAW; NOT via your iPhone) and see whether the noise makes it to the recording.

Often, this is only noticeable when you play at home at moderate volume levels, but not a real issue in recordings or when playing at higher volumes. If it does persist even in recordings, you really need to address this (again, either via a setup, and adjustment of your technique, or both).

5 Likes

It sounds like you’re experiencing a fret buzzing issue, particularly on the E and A strings. This could be due to various factors such as high action or technique. Since you’re new to bass and just completed a course, it’s a good idea to check your bass’s setup and possibly adjust the action.

1 Like

+1 to the setup suggestions, as that’s always a good idea anyway.

BUT!

If you can take a quick video with audio of you playing so I could see and hear what’s happening, I could give you a much better suggested fix.