Computer Specifications

Just wondering what sort of specs people are running when recording/mixing music. I’m still new to it all and currently intend on using Reaper, EZdrummer 3 and a few plugins (some from Neural DSP + some others). My laptop is about 10 years old, maybe older. I’m somewhat familiar with specs, but just wondering what others are using.

Thinking of getting either a new laptop or waiting until my son needs one for school at the end of the year and taking the one he current uses for homework and web based games.

I usually check out the CPU on https://www.cpubenchmark.net/
My current laptop rates at 3,561 (4 cores, 8 threads) and only has 4GB RAM.
The one my son uses rates 5,507 (4 cores, 4 threads) and has 8GB RAM.

I’m looking at CPU’s that range anywhere from about 16,000 to 24,000 on the CPU benchmark site, but don’t know if that’s overkill. Also considering 16GB RAM and understand that most modern laptops won’t let you upgrade (or not without a lot of effort). My old laptop allows you to change the hard drive and memory and I’ve already replaced the HDD with a SSD which helped (got a low capacity one though so already run out trying to install EZdrummer 3).

I don’t really play PC games, but considering a gaming laptop as I may start playing some.

My machine is a core i5-8600K (10,205 in their benchmark), 16GB RAM, with a GeForce GTX1070ti. Far from cutting edge or max spec but more than enough for mixing and mastering, with many tracks and plugins active, and usually several virtual instruments.

Also works fine for current AAA games, though the 1070 is starting to show its age.

More RAM never hurts but there is no memory pressure so far.

CPU has not been limiting yet. But faster never hurts.

3 Likes

Reaper doesn’t really have minimum specs, as it should be able to run on any computer.
Even a 10 year old one should work.