Connect Amp and iPad to one Headphone

Hello everyone,
I’m fairly new to this whole bass learning and need some suggestions on how best to connect my devices for my lessons.
I have an amp with headphone out socket, i use my iPad to stream the lessons. Josh advised we use headphones to listen to the practice songs. I got a headphone now, but have to use only one side so I can hear what I play from the amp, while listening to the lessons. Is there a way I can have both the iPad and Amp coming into the headphones simultaneously? If yes, what kind of gear (s) do I need to get to achieve this?
Thanks in advance.

1 Like

I am sure someone in here can help you out, @Trev1 - I seem to remember that several in here have chosen the same approach.

An important piece in this puzzle would be know whether your amp had an aux input socket? If so, I think you are OK by routing the iPad into that socket (provided the correct cable) and then headphones out from the amp.

Again, once you checked whether your amp has that aux in, then I am sure there is more than one in here to tell you exactly how to do that :smile:

3 Likes

Thanks @joergkutter.
Unfortunately, my amp doesn’t have aux in. Maybe I’d need to upgrade the amp.

1 Like

For starters, try to check this thread: Bass recording and listing to play along
Cheers!

1 Like

@Trev1 Welcome to BassBuzz!
It all comes back to having a device with both an AUX in and a headphone out.

If you want to upgrade your amp it’s worth looking to have both connections. After the course you will still be able to use it for playing along with backing tracks.

Their are a few people on here that go amp-less, using headphones all the time.

The least expensive option is probably this…

It plugs directly into your bass and you plug your headphone and aux cable directly into it.

4 Likes

Thanks @eric.kiser. I’d get the Vox for now and maybe upgrade my amp later.

1 Like