Deezer's Spleeter

Deezer just released its “source separation algorithm” named Spleeter.

Its aim is to help separate tracks from music using pretrained deep-learning models (think “Artificial Intelligence”, or… just “Magic” :no_mouth:), and not by using high pass filters and so on.

So we might have new ways to remove the bass track from our favorite songs! :smiley:

It’s open source, so anyone can mess with it. Unfortunately, those “anyone” are mostly developers now since it’s not a product, it’s published “as is” and you need at least to know how to install development tools to be able to test it.

The good news is that I’m a dev and I will definitely test this in the following days. :smirk:

I’m very exited by that and I’ll post here my findings and results. :slight_smile:

14 Likes

That looks interesting. Let us know you findings.
Will this eventually be available to the public?

4 Likes

@NicolasConstant That’s pretty amazing that this technology has come this far. when you have a chance to work with it, I would love to hear what the resulting files sound like. I would also like to know how long it takes to process a single song. It says, “100 times faster than real time” (using a GPU) which sounds like being able to process a 5 minute song in 3 seconds.

(5 [minutes] x 60 [second] / 100 = 3 [seconds])

That falls in the Holly Shit category of fast. I look forward to reading whatever you learn about this.

@studio Yes, it is already available to the public but not as a finished/user friendly product. Based on what little documentation I read, it’s already functional. However, to use it now, you would need some specialized computer skills to get it working.