Did my TRBX304 bass die?

Hi, first time posting her, hope anyone can help me…
I’ve been playing for about 5 months, and today this happened -
I’ve got my bass hooked up to darkglass vintage deluxe and from there into a fender rumble 40 amp, in the middle of me playing an increasing whoosh sound started filling the room until it stopped and then my bass didn’t make any sound.
it’s not the battery (active bass)
it’s not the cable - checked
it’s not the amp - checked

Anyone got Ideas?
Thanks!

3 Likes

Did you try a fresh battery even if you think this one is ok?

5 Likes

Yep, almost certainly the battery :cry:

6 Likes

yes, that’s the first thing I did, I replaced the battery with a brand new one…
I also connected with the same cable my E-Drums to the amp and it’s not the amp.
could it be the built in pre-amp?

2 Likes

I’d take the Darkglass out of the equation for now. Turn on the amp, plug in your instrument cable. If you touch the end of the cable that plugs into your bass you should get some noise (I’m assuming you don’t have another electric instrument to test it).
So the amp makes noise and the cable is OK. Plug in the Bass and touch the circular metal part of the pickups with something metallic i.e a screwdriver or a spoon it doesn’t matter what. You can even press down the string to touch the pickup pole piece. If there’s no clicking sound then you’ll have to logically trace the fault out from the bass output jack to the pickup (I don’t know your current skill / competence level taking stuff apart and using an Avo.)
You can bypass the Yamaha preamp by using a long piece of wire to go straight from the output jack to the pickup. It’s a quick hillbilly way to chase down electrical faults on vehicles. It works, it’s just not elegant.
You might be ‘lucky’ and it’s the Darkglass. Though I just googled the price :frowning:

4 Likes

Thanks for the suggestion, I’ve got no experience taking a bass apart, but I think I’ll give a try.