Do you know a somewhat comprehensive guide to fret fingering and fretting hand muting (...for beginners)?

Hey what’s up you guys. Super beginner here.

I’ve been unable to find much info on “proper” fretting hand technique that went into detail on how to efficiently fret notes while also muting high strings efficiently and not hurting the hand in the process. Maybe I don’t NEED to worry about all that as a beginner, but I’d like to have an idea of how it’s done well.

Do any of you know a guide that REALLY goes into detail about fretting hand technique? Muting and everything? I’d really appreciate it.

1 Like

There are loads of resources everywhere.

Adam Neely has good stuff on hand placement.
Josh has good stuff on this in B2B.
You really just take the concepts and find simple 'exercises to practice with them slowly and perfectly and ramp up speed as you build technical skill.
Bass Fitness is a good one for this, as is slowly playing scales, arpeggios, etc.

The basic concept for muting is pretty straightforward, getting your fingers to do it without thinking about it is another story, takes time, be patient.

6 Likes

+1 on that. Also, there is more than one way to treat a bloated heifer (Weird, I know, but Dad was a linguistically creative guy, and I’ve never skinned a cat, but I have treated bloated heifers). Anyhoo, in my (limited) experience, there’s not one “correct” way of muting. It depends not only on personal preference, but also on the piece you’re playing, fret hand placement/shape, plucking hand position, etc. etc.