Fender Rumble 40 Studio + DIY Fun?

Maybe I’m a heretic or at least an outlier. But the half-year-plus since I bought this (as a total newbie at 59.5 to music-making), w/a third-hand 1995 Jazz MIM, I confess I’ve not been learning many notes–yet. I find it a relief to fool around with making noises along with my Spotify playlists on shuffle, so I never know what’s next. As I do concentrated mental work for a living, I want to ease off thinking, and worrying as I’m a perfectionist about getting everything just right in whatever system I face. So I let another part of my body (soul?) emerge a half-hour or so daily. I figure this is my therapy post-2020. I realize probably nobody on this forum may be “progressing” as such, but this has let me free up my hands, get used to moving about the frets, and given me confidence along with joy.

I know in time I will plug along with B2B (my wife keeps mocking me as I’m not a bad-ass yet) in its intended form for which I invested a considerable amount. But I wanted to know if 1) any of you have followed a similar lack of regimen for better or worse, at least for an interim 2) what kind of creativity have you found in playing with the settings to make setlist entries on the studio Rumble? It’s my adult toy, but I can’t figure out how to invent, say, a “dub” sound, or to make it accompany different genres in the way I “hear” settings I cannot reproduce. I call my present state improv bass…and in this DIY fumbling pumps the attitude that, at 16 in 1977, inspired me the year art-punk spread.

3 Likes

That’s what we’re all doing in one way or another. I don’t think anyone on here is making serious money playing bass. I’m having fun, period.

2 Likes

HI @DrJLMurphy

I think a lot all day too, and I have to say B2B is a lot less thinking and a lot more enjoyment than other courses. I think if you get going in it you will find you enjoy yourself a lot.