For those who are not newbies: is it easier for you to learn/play a new song properly in a short timeframe?

I started learning in Sept 2022 with B2B and have improved a lot since those first few days and since finishing B2B. As part of my practice, I choose songs I like (not too hard) and slow them way down like half speed. Once I get it down and work up to normal tempo, I make fretting mistakes non stop-- pinky slipping off the string and other fingers not positioned as well as they should be. Also tensing up the hand and shoulder.

Current examples are Are You Gonna Be My Girl (Jet) and Upside Down (Diana Ross). I’ve practiced enough to know the notes looking at the tabs on the screen and can play them slowed down (the Jet song is harder). But Upside Down at normal speed, and my hand is a mess.

Is it just a matter of continued practice at slower speeds then gradually increase?

It’s sometimes disheartening that I mess up so much when playing at the normal speed and makes me wonder how others with more experience find learning a new song. Do you still make rookie fretting errors if a new song is too fast for you?

7 Likes