For those with work-from-home jobs

Does your day start anything like this? Or is it just me?

• Wake up slightly before, or with, the alarm. Grumble.
  • Hop in a quick shower. Grumble.
  • Feed the birds (insert your pet here). No grumble, pets make me happy. Well, happier.
  • Sit down to work. Grumble.
  • Stare at the screen for a few minutes, still grumbling.
  • Walk over to my bass, play a few songs (usually 2 or 3 regulars, then 1 that I’m working on; just a quick run through of the parts I know).
  • Sit back down, NOW ready to work and in a much better mood.
11 Likes

This is very very accurate.

8 Likes

Sometimes, I don’t touch my bass for several days which is fine for me.
But, as soon as I have a day in the office, I am kinda like “But, but, I wanted to play my bass!”

8 Likes

Replacing the grumbling with smiling, I’m a morning person so as the first one up this is my sanctuary time, and the play a few songs with study a few lessons (i’m brand new to bass) and that’s me!

3 Likes

Not that I will admit to my employers but…

Yes. To all.

4 Likes

Sometimes I don’t touch my basses for weeks. It all depends on what I am working on. It’s been all guitar for me recently; I have done large stints of just keys too.

The key for me is to be always doing music of some kind. If I do that, I find going back to any of them to be like riding a bicycle. A bit rusty for a day or so but it picks right up. I don’t get any better of course, but I tend to degrade slowly in my experience. Kind of a metaphor for life in general :rofl:

I do not recommend this until you are solid with the fundamentals though. It’s more of a thing that happens after you get a couple years of solid practice under your belt.

But yes this part, this is every day :rofl:

5 Likes