Fret buzz

I’m quite new to bass, and when I play, the frets buzz. I know it’s probably due to my fingers not being strong enough. Will the buzz just go away with time and as my fingers get stronger?

6 Likes

Welcome @Dottie

Well it depends. If you fret your note properly and it buzz then you need a neck relief adjustment. It’s pretty simple task and nothing to be afraid of.

If it’s the technique then it takes a little practice to get the finger pressure and position correctly. Once you get this it would be automatic. Take your time learn the fundamental properly it will be on autopilot so right technique goes a long way down the road.

4 Likes

If all the strings buzz chances are the neck is too straight or backbowed and you need to adjust the neck relief by loosening the truss rod to decrease the backbow. Just take your time and make slight adjustments (max 1/4 turn), wait 10 minutes, retune and check the neck relief again.

There are a ton of good videos explaining this on YouTube.
Just do a search for bass setup.
Here is one.

4 Likes

Hi @Dottie. A brief check may help to determine if the neck needs adjustment or if the buzzing sound is related to playing technique.

Tune the bass. Press down the G-string in second fret. No excessive force, just press it down. Play the tone. Is it a clear tone or is there still some buzzing noise? Do the same with all strings at 2nd, 7th and 12th fret.

Clear tone: it’s you
Buzzing tones in the low, medium or high frets: neck needs an adjustment

4 Likes

I’d like to add that it shouldn’t take a lot of force to press the strings down to the fretboard. If it does, your action (the distance between the strings and the fretboard) may be too high. This can be fixed by lowering the bridge saddles, which is also part of a good setup. But you should check/fix your neck relief first as the others have explained.

3 Likes

Is this happening when you play through an amp, or are you just playing the bass “raw”?

1 Like