Fretting Hand Thumb

Hello everyone!
As you can imagine, I’m also pretty new to bass, but I’ve been loving every minute of it. I’ve also never really purchased any sort of online lesson, etc, however, these videos captivated me from the free youtube videos.
Anyway, I’ve done some strolling through the forums to see if I could find any other posts with this problem I’m having, I may have missed it but I’m not sure.
My Problem
I’m left handed, but I believe the general issue is still the same (even if I was right handed). My thumb that rests parallel to the fretboard feels like I’m giving it too much pressure and almost feels like it’s jamming while I play. The pain isn’t terrible or anything and it subsides once I’m done playing (and it really doesn’t get in the way), but when I’m trying to practice proper technique (and not letting the top of my palm hit the fretboard), I feel like this inherently makes me push my thumb into the back of the board harder.

Am I supposed to be keeping the thumb loose? If so, I have no real idea on how to really manage that, outside of paying super close attention to how I’m holding my bass at all times, but it does feel more natural to me to be applying pressure.

Has anyone else experienced something similar? Or if you have some tips of what I may or may not be doing properly, I’d appreciate it immensely.

4 Likes

Yeah that’s a fairly common issue, I’m still working on it as well. Check out the Death Grip thread. There’s all sorts of tips there, including practicing without using the thumb (I guess to make you less reliant on it), but nothing has really worked for me other than:

4 Likes

Thanks! I’ll check it out. It’s nice to know I’m not alone on this.

3 Likes

A few general tips:

Ideally your thumb is softly resting on the back of the neck, not being pressed in to the point of discomfort.