From scales to?

Hi all. I graduated about a month ago and have been enjoying playing along on YouTube bass tabs. I’m also steadily practicing the 5 main scales (major, minor, maj and min pentatonic, blues).
My question is: how do I ‘leverage’ those scales? I don’t know what to do with them. What’s the next step? Practical advice for scale applications is much appreciated.
-Ken

3 Likes

I am working through the Chord Tones course at talkingbass which is a great next step past scales. He also has an in depth scales course but I have not taken it.

In chord tones the 3rd module dives into the “so what do I do with these things.

I would suspect the scales course is similar. M
They are great courses and a natural next step from here.

I think @PamPurrs may have gone through both and might have more insights.

4 Likes

Yes I did both, but I’m not sure what your question is

2 Likes

@krt1

Not sure if this will work for you or not but I suggest you take a look at Justin Guitar where he has complete FREE courses but unfortunately they are geared to 6 string guitars. Here is a link:

Here is a YouTube sample from that site that may be of interest to you.

I would also suggest going to Blues Guitar Unleashed. There again this is geared to 6 string guitars. Here is a link:
https://bluesguitarunleashed.com/
And a Youtube sample from the site:

And one more for the hell of it from Active Melody:

Keep in mind that the main function of a Bass is to work with the Drummer to keep the beat, timing and rhythm driving forward.
Most of the time, it is not to grab the spotlight and to shred riffs up and down the neck we just stay in the background and look cool :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Try learning Around the World by Daft Punk, it may give you some ideas :smiley:

1 Like

I did the Scales first, and was 1/2 way thru Chord Tones when I went into the Hospital in Oct 2020. I didn’t play the bass for a couple months, just picking it back up in late Jan 2021.