Getting Lost Musically

Hello! I have been playing for a few months and I’m halfway through the course, but I have an issue I recently discovered: I play all the songs by ear and not by actually listening to the drums. When I slow down the songs by a few bpm, I just get completely lost.
Could you guys help me?

2 Likes

Hi @lory and glad you are here btw.

Changing bpm can and will mess you up quite a bit if you are not used to it. Generally when I learn songs, I start slow and build speed. I have been doing it for a while so I am used to the effect, however, even with that there are some bpms that just feel unnatural for certain songs.

I would however, recommend you always play with drums, a drum loop or a metronome. Bass must be spot on wtih timing and groove and be right in the pocket. Oft times what happens is we think we have really good timing (it is easy to think this in the beginning btw) but turns out we really don’t.

Josh’s Ultimate Groove Workout (in the lessons) is a great place to test just how well your timing actually is. You will encounter this in Module 14, but could skip ahead and give it a try if you want.

3 Likes

Practice with a metronome at various tempos. The end goal is to internalise the beat (1 2 3 4) and the subdivisions (8th notes and 16th notes), and feel the pulse with or without a drummer. Take a look at Rich Brown’s metronome exercises on YouTube, it’s really great stuff.

9 Likes

Hi, welcome! Check if your amp has an “aux in”, if so, plug your phone into it with a drum-looping app (on Android I personally use Loopz which - I think - was one of those mentioned by Josh, but I could be wrong… surely there are several so you have a lot of choices). Suddenly you will have one “drummer” with you, which never tires if you miss a beat, or a bar…