Got myself my first bass-related injury :D

Right at the base of my left index finger, and the thumb-wrist joint. It hurts, so I’ll need to take a break, but I just wanted to ask you all if there’s some (plucking) excercice I can do with my spare hand, while the other recovers.

Oh, and just a word of advice for every beginner here: if you notice your hand is getting tense and you start fretting hard, SLOW DOWN. Your thumb shouldn’t press against the neck, and the other fingers MUST play effortlessly. You’ll speed it up with time and exercise. Don’t be arrogant with your playing like yours truly was.
Cheers.

6 Likes

I agree with eveything you said. There’s a reason what you describe is called “The Deathgrip”.

I can’t help you with plucking exercises as when I take a break because of one part of my body I take a break for all parts and that is my personal recommendation to you: Relax. It’s not a race.

I remember other forum members mentioning plucking on a lot of things in their free time once they started the course (e.g. seatbelt) but apart from training the muscles I doubt the efficiency of such methods and usually it’s my left hand that’s the problem anyway. Might be wrong about the efficiency though.

5 Likes

i had a pain deep in my fretting hand, between the 2nd and 3rd fingers for months when i first started. would ache and occasionally spasm. now i haven’t thought about it in a long time, it will get better over time. just if it really actively hurts, rest it - trying to do exercises will not help and will probably make it worse. if you can take them, NSAID’s (like ibuprofen/motrin) help.

4 Likes

Yes, there are lots of alternate plucking exercises and rake - alternate - rake alternate style finger exercises that I have done from Low End University.
I would have to go watch them again and see if there is a way I can explain it easily.