Hard, percussive noise when releasing strings

Newbie here, coming up to halfway through the course.

Occasionally, and mostly when faster fretting, I’m getting a hard percussive twang noise when I’m releasing a string in between notes.

At first, I wondered if the action was a bit high, so i’ve tried adjusting the setup. After tweaking the truss rod slightly, I’ve lowered the saddles as much as I can before I start getting buzzy notes. This has helped a bit, but not completely eliminated it.

I have two basses (both 2nd hand)- a squire Jaguar (classic vibe, medium scale 32"), and a std scale Epi Tbird (I keep this tuned down 1/2 step).

Of course, both handle quite differently - it definitely seems more apparent on the Squier. So wasn’t sure it if was a setup thing, or needing to perfect sloppy technique.

When it happens, I tend to feel my fingers rubbing sideways slightly on the roundwound strings. (Ie when combining lifting and moving larger distances between notes).

I wondered if it might be better with smoother flatwounds, or would these just be hiding poor technique?

Many thanks!

3 Likes

Let me hazard a guess: you play/practice at very decent (low) levels in order not to disturb the wife/kids/pets/neighbors and you are not playing with headphones!?!

There is potentially a lot of “noise” from playing bass that you only hear because you have your ears literally directly next to the strings and thus can pick up any string scratching, rattling on frets etc. These sounds can typically no longer be heard when playing louder, through headphones or when recording (and listening back to recorded material).

Now, I am not saying there couldn’t be other causes (technically with the bass, or technique-wise with your playing) for these noises, but let’s look at the simplest explanation first.

If it’s not that, then we need to look further. In that case, perhaps a video of you playing could help…

7 Likes