Harmonics Theory

Forum newbie here, so apologies if this has been asked already… but…

5th fret of the G string is a C. Its harmonic is a G (i.e. C’s 5th, , one octave higher).
9th fret of the G string is an E. Its harmonic is a B (i.e., G’s 5th, one octave higher).
So I would expect the harmonic of the 7th fret of the G string (a D) to behave similarly, and be D’s 5th (an A, one octave higher). But it’s not… its harmonic is a D. :exploding_head:Mind blown. What gives? why wouldn’t the 7th fret follow the same logic as the 5th and 9th fret?

1 Like

@JoshFossgreen do you know?

1 Like

@andy42 Huh? What you wrote really makes no sense to me, and I think you are confused on a couple things or getting mixed up on terminology.

Degrees can be used the describe the position of a note within a scale. For example: in the C Major scale (C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C) we have Root, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, Octave.

Degrees can also be used to describe the distance between 2 different notes chromatically (also called the Interval), ascending or descending. This is counted in half steps (each fret), NOT including the note started on.

So, a Chromatic Scale, starting on C ascending = C, C# (Db), D, D# (Eb), E (Fb), F (E#), F# (Gb), G, G# (Ab), A, A# (Bb), B (Cb), and C (B#) - see chart below.

So, lets take a C Major Scale, for example.

When describing going from Root C ascending, going from C to G is a 5th, because it is the 5th note in the scale.

When describing the Interval between C to G, we are counting # of half-steps (again, not including the starting note). To get from C to G we are ascending 7 half-steps, which is called a Fifth (see chart).

I think your confusion comes from confusing the difference between those 2 descriptions.
Lets look at it on a fret-board chart:

This first image is showing the notes played in a C major scale in relation to the position of the note in that scale.