Help! I became (like) my girlfriend by playing bass :-)

Ok, not really.

But since I started learning to play bass, I slowly adapted my musical taste to her’s - without noticing. Am I alone in that?

Only when she first started humming while I was practicing bass and then singing along, I asked her if everything was ok, as she NEVER hums or sings to “my music”.

She had to laugh, in this typical way that girlfriends do, when they feel superior (= always!), and said: “You are listening to MY music now, dummy!”.

Note: she is a “guitar chick” and listens mainly to “Gitarrengeschrabbel” (cannot translate this).

WTF? She was right!

I have a long history of listening, dancing to and generally partying to music. Never played an instrument before, except the triangle…

My grandfather gave me my first turntable (a red philips portable suitcase record player, yeah!) when I was six, and gave me loads of used 45’s singles every month (he was in the jukebox business - think: “Wurlitzer”). He was a great guy!

So by the age of 12 I had thousands and thousands of singles, got into soul, then disco and funk, in the 80s punk and new wave, industrial, EBM, new beat, then acid, goa, jungle, and finally all flavours of techno and house music. Now the electronic scene became unbearable boring, but that’s another topic…

I always liked bass, since I was a child and especially whenI got my first Yamaha NS1000M monitors and a proper amp (must habe been 12/13 then), but I went more and more into electronic sounds (my revelation came with “Are friends electric” by Gary Numan). And less and less in stuff with somebody singing.

I always said: “music is when I can DANCE to it”, my girlfriend always says: “music is when I can SING to it!"

So now I look at my play list, and I see Smashing Pumpkins, Hole, Stone Temple Pilots, Audioslave, Garbage, Placebo, Muse, Royal Blood etc.

What is wrong with me? Am I a (bass) guitar chick now???!:blush:

7 Likes

Short answer: yes. Yes, you are.