Help my new bass sounds distorted

Hey, I’m a beginner and I got the Squier Jass bass.
For some reason, my E string especially sounds very distorted! I’m using a Fender Rumble 15 amp. The rest of the strings sound ok but I don’t know if the E string sound is normal. I got the bass straight from a box, so no one touched it before. It doesn’t sound mild and smooth like in the video tutorials. I feel like I’m playing an electric guitar :sob:
Any ideas what I can do? I live in a country where it’s not very easy to get to a store to fix it, so I prefer to try and fix it myself if it’s even possible. Thanks!

Typically most all basses out of the box need a setup. Josh has a great video on how to do this if you’re handy. If not a local music shop can do it for you but I suggest at some point you learn to do it yourself.

That said, what is the gain on the amp set at? If too high you might hear distortion on the E first.

Thanks! I watched Josh’s videos and I’m willing to try and fix it myself, I just wanted to make sure first that it’s normal for a new bass, I don’t want to ruin it as I am a newbie…
For the amp, I have only mid and treble, no gain. I set them all to mid as explained in the videos. Any other ideas? I have a video recording of the sound, I just can’t post it here unfortunately

You could upload it on youtube and link it here? Afaik it’s free for personal use.

Good idea! I uploaded it but apparently, you can’t post links here :frowning:
try this maybe? just add the youtube dotcom before
shorts/CjZG_aYYygc

1 Like

No problem!

Also you can just paste the link in the text editor like this:

Your E strings has a rattle which you usually can fix with a setup. It’s hopefully gone if you do the truss rod adjustment from Josh’s video. If not I would do a proper setup by a luthier.

Good luck!

1 Like

The sound can be normal for a new bass.
I used to work at a music store and basses would come from the factory with all kinds of rattles and problems.