Hey Matt In Buffalo here again! Making slow progress

Hi, some of you may know me from my first post. I introduced myself here: New guy here. Hi! First time bassist - Bass - BassBuzz Forum and got some good advice and tips and opinions.

So I’ve been playing a couple more weeks now. Don’t get enough time into it that I need, but I’m trying. I signed up for the Fender Play online bass course. So far its pretty good. I’m about half way thru lesson 3 on it. The strings and notes are starting to become a little more familiar to me. My finger work still sucks bad, but practice makes perfect I guess. I can now play 3 whole songs, very crappily and slow. 7 Nation Army was my first, Another One Bites the Dust was number 2, and She Talks to Angels by the Black Crows is number 3. I’m not GOOD at playing any of them, by any means, but I can butcher my way on through, nice and choppy.

I started the Fender Play online course. I am about through most of lesson 3. Its a fairly good, and noob oriented program. I like it so far.

People keep telling me to do the lessons and practice the scales before I try to learn songs, but I get bored with that, so I have to try to learn a song or two to keep me motivated in between lessons. Youtube is great.

I also bought a nice strap, and a nice case, and a music stand. I fixed some busted amps my prodigy brother left at my Dads 10 years ago too. I’m now playing on a 12" speaker with a 50 watt “Stage” amp headunit. Sounds way better than the garbage picked 10 watt amp with the 4" speaker I was using.

I am sort of surprised that I seem to be maintaining an interest in this, despite no natural skill. My hobbies jump around a lot.

Anyways, hope everyone is trying to have fun, and improving their skills! Thanks all!

Matt Willard (40yrs old, 1 month playing the bass, not a lot of hours)
Buffalo NY

8 Likes

Sounds as if you’re making some real progress, Matt @IIIQuaZIII . . . :slight_smile:

Good for you, and see you around the Forums!

Cheers