How can a 34" bass have a different number of frets?

This might be a silly question :slight_smile: But how can a 34" scale length have both 20, 22 and 24 frets without changing the length of the bass?

(I’m a beginner playing a Yamaha TRBX174)

2 Likes

There is a couple of things to keep in mind here: while the overall length of the string is important, the tuning of that string can be changed (within reasonable limits) by tightening or loosening it. This is why your E-string can be tuned down to D or even C, but it starts to become very sloppy at some point.

The spacing of the frets is adjusted to the length of the string, such that the 12th fret exactly sits at half the string’s length, and the other frets are placed accordingly. The 12th fret is always at half the string’s length, regardless of the overall absolute length of that string.

Finally, the number of frets is often determined by the design of the neck in conjunction with the design of the body (i.e., if you have more frets, you need to allow access to the frets; or, if you want more frets, you might have to use a design that allows the fretboard to extend further down, and thus you need to place your pickups further towards the bridge; and so on…)

I have 34 inch basses with 24 frets, and 35 inch basses with 21 frets - I can certainly notice the difference in fret spacing and where, e.g., the 12th fret sits with respect to the body, or where my muscle memory thinks it ought to sit :smile:

10 Likes

Even though the overall length of the strings, measured from the nut to the bridge, is fixed, the length of the neck and the size of the body may vary. A 24-fret bass typically has a longer neck, and a shorter body to compensate. Compared to a 20-fret bass, the first 20 frets will be in exactly the same position on both basses. The 24-fret bass just has four additional frets at the “high” side of the strings.

11 Likes

To make it simple.

Bigger (longer width) body + shorter neck = less frets