How do I deal with blisters from bass?

Hey there I’m very new to bass and got my first blister yesterday. What’s the best way to work around having a blister while still practicing?

3 Likes

Personally, I’d say take a break for a bit until the blister heals.

If you don’t want to stop, however…

Depending on which hand it’s on, you could do some focused practice. If it’s your plucking hand then it’s a great time to work on your hammer on/pull offs. Just do your scales with the hammering and the pulling and such.

If it’s your fretting hand, then try to go full Joe Dart on your plucking hand. Try to get super fast 16th notes on an open string and focus on getting them super consistent and sounding almost exactly alike between the index and middle fingers.

5 Likes

Welcome to the community. Is the blister on your plucking or fretting hand?

If it’s on your plucking you could use a pick for a while.

If it’s on your fretting hand, give that particular finger a break and do more micro shifting where you move your whole hand up/down the fretboard and use your fingers without the blister.

It takes time to get calluses. If you notice an actual blister forming, it can be best to finish up for the day as a beginner. Lots of other music stuff to learn, eg theory or how to record.

2 Likes

Yep, sadly this is the answer.
You will be sorry if you don’t - don’t ask how I know.
Try not to get this far when practicing.
Good news is they will subside and you won’t have to deal with them for long.
Rite of passage.

4 Likes

Oddly enough, I feel like my playing improves the moment I pick the bass after taking a day or two off. For example, there was a riff I was having just the worst time playing it at full speed. I didn’t play at all over the weekend and when I picked it up on Monday I could easily play the riff like it was nothing.