How do you deal with the feeling of inferiority?

Hello gals and guys…

I wanted to discuss a mental state that I keep finding myself frequently since I started learning to play the bass…

I would describe it as being intimidated or alienated from what I am doing while I watch other people on youtube etc. The things that were inspiring me at the beginning of the road are straight freaking me out now.

I can for sure look back and see how much progress I made and when I play for my family they get amazed pretty easily but looking down the road (especially without knowing what I wanted to do in the end with this “hobby?”) I sometimes get demotivated…

Gotta train my ear, gotta learn more theory, gotta figure out sight reading, would have learned so many songs, styles techniques…etc all of that while Wooten keeps saying “what matters is the groove”…

When I find more than 30 minutes of time to play my instrument I usually freeze with all these options.

I am not a lazy guy and don’t get shy or feel awkward easily. I learned 2 foreign languages in the middle of my thirties, plus dancing or bazillion new stuff at work… But never felt so much out of my element…

So when you watch a 9 year old kid literally shredding the bass on youtube while you cannot even keep in mind a 2 bar riff, how do you manage to push on?

11 Likes

You have to remember that 9 year old kid is what they call a “prodigy” . . . :wink:

Not all of us are born with that kind of talent, so don’t be hard on yourself.

Cheers, Joe

8 Likes

I just recorded a cover of roundabout by Yes. with no slap because my slap game is garbage at current. And to be honest I’m still pretty proud of it.

At the end of the day my suggestion is to play what you want how you want. enjoy it, relax, and just feel the music ( the groove Victors talking about) and just go.