How good a bassist?

Hey,
I just started Josh’s excellent course. It’s my second day and I’m on module 2, till now I’ve had no experience on bass (I’ve played guitar though) and till now the course has been pretty easy. (Maybe because Josh is an amazing teacher :metal:)
Btw I was wondering, people who’ve completed the course how good do you guys get after the course? Like are you gig/studio session ready? Can you create your own basslines (not the simple ones)?
Just wondering. Would love to hear from you guys!

5 Likes

Looking at my own progress, I would say that when you finish the course, you are still probably a beginner, but an “advanced beginner” with a really good set of fundamental skills, and a serious head start towards being an intermediate bass player. Probably most of the way towards intermediate level and just lacking practice.

You can jam with others, come up with your own basslines (composing them or just coming up with them on the fly while jamming), and sure, with song practice you could gig. People have and have posted about it.

I’m also pretty critical of myself and am maybe underselling things a bit here. It’s a really great course and teaches you all the basics - everything you need to know to be off to a good start of a bass career - and does so very well.

10 Likes

That was helpful. All the best for your bass career! :hibiscus:

6 Likes

I just completed the 30 day Beginner to Badass 16 days ago. This course delivers the goods! I did every module and lesson speed and I could early on jam along, make up my own rhythms, and now I’m learning entire bass lines. I can also talk the music lingo, which makes jamming even easier! I am ready to find a regular group to jam with, and feel like I’ll be an asset. So that’s my experience! Hope it helps.

8 Likes

Like @howard said, “advanced beginner” would be the most realistic term to describe those of us who have finished the course (and never played bass before that).