How hard should I be plucking?

Hey All, during my practice sessions with headphones, I’m not sure how hard I should be plucking the strings. I could turn the volume on my amp up and pluck very lightly or would it be better to turn the volume down a bit and pluck harder? I’m very new at this and I want to make sure my technique is correct from the start.

Thanks in advance for your insight.

8 Likes

I’m also relatively new to bass and wondering this as well. I’ve noticed that plucking too strongly can cause the strings to rattle (against the frets?). Should we just play as zen as possible and Leave-it-up-to-the-Sound-Guy? :laughing:

8 Likes

In my experience for general plucking it’s better to worry about consistency than volume for two reasons. First you/the-sound-guy can always adjust volume/gain as necessary, but perhaps more importantly for dynamics. Dynamics is the practice of deliberately playing at different volumes throughout a piece for dramatic effect. If you’re taking the Beginner to Badass course there is a lesson on dynamics in Module 9.

6 Likes

@fosskers and @NipperDog . . . how hard you pluck is a matter of personal taste, and would depend on what type of music you’re playing along to . . . :slight_smile:

Like so many other things, there’s no “right” way to do anything.

Cheers
Joe

7 Likes

@NipperDog

Are you using a headphone amp OR headphones plugged into an amp?
If using a standard amp your volume control on your guitar should be almost at maximum (I have mine at 75%).
I am using a Rumble 100 AMP and my GAIN is at 8 o’clock and the MASTER VOLUME is at 1/4 ie. 9 o’clock.

When you say pluck are you talking about your fingers or a pick?
If you are talking about fingers I would say that you are not so much plucking but sliding your finger across the string until it comes to rest on the next string or against your thumb.
You do not pluck/pull up on a string on a Bass.
Hope this helps.

2 Likes

My headphones are plugged into my amp.