How I Would Learn Bass (If I Could Start Over)

If you could go back to day 1 of learning bass…

What would you do differently with how you approached the technical, practical and mindset/motivational?

Asking for a friend with a time machine. :crazy_face:

I have a long list, but to start the ball rolling…

Have a clear WHY, and orient to it:

To this day, I have no idea why I started playing bass. I just started.

And while I love the seemingly random inspiration of the Great Muse, this time she hurt me because I started without a clear WHY. Am I playing for fun? To become a chick magnet? To be a world famous touring musician?

Because of that unclarity, my practice was super unfocused over many years. At times my goal was “become world famous touring musician”, but my practice habits looked more like someone whose goal was to “have fun” and “be really good at slap bass even though you’ll never really need it.”

If I’d been clear on my goal, my WHY, I could have designed habits to actually support that goal. I.e. stop slapping Josh, work on rhythm timing and tone, and go out and meet lots of musicians.

Because my WHY was living in my unconscious, and didn’t match my actual habits, I never got anywhere close to being a famous touring musician. (not to mention that being famous is a ridiculous goal, but that’s another issue)

That hurt for some years. I felt like a huge failure, and often felt embarassed to even put out Youtube videos as a teacher during that time.

It took hitting my 30’s and looking soberly at reality to realize that I had a WHY that didn’t fit me, or match the habits I was willing to take on. Now that I have an aligned WHY of “have fun playing great music, and help other people learn to do it too”, I can intelligently choose how and what to practice, and measure if it’s getting me where I want to go.

Soooo woulda been nice to figure that all out a decade sooner, lol oops. So it goes, as Kurt Vonnegut said.

23 Likes