How to get this tone?

Listen to the bass in the video. How does the bass player get that unique sound?

(I have a feeling the answer is going to involve spending money)

3 Likes

Yeah, probably :grin:

Let’s start with the bass: it looks like a Rickenbacker, but I am not a Rick expert, so can’t say much more… But, those are the basses that Chris Squire also played. They probably set you back at least 2000 bucks.

Then, there are the amps and the sound shaping gear in the signal path… those will also contribute to the sound… and the price tag!

BUT… a big part of his sound might be the way he plays. To me it looks like he’s really leaning into those strings, not holding back! I mean the guy has forearms the size of my thighs, so there is that :smile:

4 Likes

Rickenbacker basses have a very unique sound . . . :slight_smile:

And yes, a new one will set you back a good $2300 USD

Cheers, Joe

3 Likes

The roundness of the bass sound is classic Ampeg. Which makes sense as he is playing through a pair of Ampeg SVTs and 8x10 stacks :slight_smile:

2 Likes

So, you’re saying that what amp you use can make that much of a difference in the tone?

3 Likes

Absolutely. Which makes sense; it’s kind of like how active basses can get a broad tonal range with their preamps. Except in this case it’s both the settings on his preamp in the amps, and the tone coloring of the amp itself.

Ampegs are famous for that round, punchy sound, you can kind of hear it here:

(edit, linked the wrong vid :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Great! Now I’m shopping for new amp. I knew this question was going to end up costing me money LOL.

3 Likes

Make sure to try them out and find one you like, ideally with your bass :slight_smile:

There’s also other ways to get that kind of sound with other amps. Many effects boxes have amp and cabinet simulators to mimic that tone. Some preamp pedals also do the Ampeg tone. I have this one:

3 Likes