I feel stuck/ UPDATE! going to do the monthly plan for the physical copy. ready to see where this takes me

Hey guys, I do not know how to set up my practice routine to become better, I just feel like I’m not getting better but I’m not getting worse. Im really inspired by joshs Geezer video and I want more stuff like that to practice. any advice?

4 Likes

I know whereof you speak! I am brand new to bass, but, yes I have to admit it, I am a recovering banjo player, but in my defence, I have been clean and finger pick free for over 20 years. The mandolin and the guitar and now the bass have saved me from a fate worse than death. So, I understand what you are feeling. Learning to play is a not a clean steady rise in abilities. It is a series of plateaus or levels that you ride on for a while and then suddenly there is an epiphany and you move on to the next plateau. Just be patient and have faith in yourself. It will come to you if you work at it and have patience.

8 Likes

Have you taken the course?
That’s the very first place to start.

5 Likes

Really wish i could! just dont got the money. hopefully in the near future I can

2 Likes

I hope so too. That’s what you need. Watching YouTube videos is a great addendum to the B2B course, but trying to learn bass from just watching YT is just floundering.

6 Likes

:100: This^^^

There is no better advice for how to learn bass than to sign up for Beginner to Badass. Save your money or use the payment plan, whatever it takes, because the lessons are a solid, methodical way to learn bass and get better. They are nothing like free YouTube videos.

6 Likes

Yeah, strongly recommend taking the course.

4 Likes

gotcha.
being disciplined without direction is going to be challenging.
No one gives that out for free, only teasers.

Josh does offer a payment plan which might help you out as well.
Until then, I would offer:

Ari Cap’s first book, great stuff and built in direction to get you through.