I may soon be in trouble

Last time I recorded anything was back in the early 80’s, with a Revox 4 track recorder and a handful of condensor mics. Recorded instruments: a few basses, a guitar, makeshift percussion and a harmonium.

I’ve now got my feet wet a bit with Audacity, but I now have a 49-key MIDI keyboard incoming, so I need to get into MIDI.

Daaaang.
Expect many questions in the near future… :no_mouth: :dizzy_face: :laughing:

5 Likes

Cool. What keyboard did you go for. Most of them come with some sort of DAW.
I bought a Novation Launchkey 49 that came bundled with Ableton live lite
Very powerful but I haven’t really had a chance to fully understand it yet
It is on my very long list of things to learn

2 Likes

I got a secondhand, very basic M-Audio Keyrig 49. Comes with Ableton Live Lite and some proprietary software.

I paid… sit down… 10 euros for it. Just what’s needed for someone who is am absolute beginner!

4 Likes

Here is a free course on Ableton Live 10 lite
And here is a list of paid for courses. There is a sale on at the moment so most courses are £11,99

2 Likes

Ah, is Udemy having their biweekly sale again? :wink:

5 Likes

Did any of you guys get Udemy’s bass course “The Professional Bass Masterclass”?

No. I am doing a music theory and the Ableton course
I quite fancy this African Bass course

1 Like

Is that the 2018’s?

3 Likes

No, it’s a typo. This was meant to read “the early 80’s” (as in, the previous millennium).
Thanks for spotting this; I’ll fix it.

3 Likes

SIX DAYS LATER

So, today, the thing finally arrived – our local mail delivery service appears to have Corona too.
The Keyrig 49 is a basic legacy device, for which drivers and software are no longer developed and supported. This probably explains why it was sold at such a ridiculously low price. But I decided that it was worth a try (and being a software engineer myself, I know a hack or two about getting legacy stuff to work, haha).